Monday, February 22, 2010

Churchill Cup returns to America in 2010

The Red Bull Arena in New Jersey will host the 2010 Churchill Cup 
The Red Bull Arena in New Jersey will host the 2010 Churchill Cup finals
Hot off the press...USA Rugby have announced the return of the Churchill Cup to the US.  Excited to see the games are making it to the East and my home turf.

Big thank you to Sara Johns at USA Rugby for passing it on.

USA RUGBY BOULDER, Colo. - The Churchill Cup makes its return to U.S. soil this summer, once again stopping in the City of Glendale, Colo. before making its East Coast debut at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, N.J.

The 2010 lineup showcases the USA Eagles, Canada, England Saxons and tournament newcomers France A, Russia and Uruguay in three rounds of doubleheader pool matches at Infinity Park, Glendale on June 5, 9 and 13.

The pool stages lead into a tripleheader finals day at Red Bull Arena, the new home of the New York Red Bulls Major League Soccer side, on June 19.

"The Churchill Cup is a vital part of our international season and offers top flight international competition, as well as providing increased exposure of the sport to new audiences in the United States," said Nigel Melville, Chief Executive Officer of USA Rugby.

"We are excited to be returning to Infinity Park and to be staging the finals day at a new venue, the Red Bull Arena, a world-class stadium that provides both players and fans with an unparalleled experience."

Terry Burwell, Churchill Cup Tournament Director, said: "We are delighted to take Churchill Cup VIII back to Denver and to add Harrison to the 10 other cities in the Canada and USA who have hosted the tournament since 2003. Infinity Park is a top grade dedicated rugby ground and we are looking forward to the pool stages there before a bumper finals day at a superb new facility in the Red Bull Arena."

In 2009, the first time the Churchill Cup was held entirely in the U.S., the pool matches consistently attracted near sellout crowds to Glendale's Infinity Park and the tournament hopes to build on past success in 2010.

"In June 2009, rugby enthusiasts from around the world came to Infinity Park in Glendale, Colorado to experience world-class rugby at the 7th Annual Churchill Cup. It is so exciting to see this great sport growing in communities throughout this country. We are honored to host the Churchill Cup again in 2010 at Infinity Park, the first rugby-specific stadium in the U.S," said Mike Dunafon, Mayor Pro Tem, Glendale, Colo.

The Churchill Cup will be the first non-soccer event held at the Red Bull Arena. After much anticipation, the 25,000 capacity soccer-specific stadium is scheduled for its grand unveiling on Saturday, March 20, when the Red Bulls take on Brazilian side Santos FC.

"We are honored to host the Finals of the Churchill Cup at Red Bull Arena," said Red Bull New York Managing Director Erik Stover. "It continues our commitment to bringing top international events to the Metropolitan New York area. This event fits well into the schedule of Red Bull Arena as the Red Bulls are on their World Cup break.”

The 2009 Churchill Cup finals were played at Dick's Sporting Goods Park (Commerce City, Colo.) and saw Ireland A upend perennial victors England Saxons in a six try final effort to claim the Cup. Argentina Jaguars defeated Canada 44-29 to earn the Plate and the USA Eagles took home the Bowl in a 31-13 final over the republic of Georgia.

For more information on the 2010 Churchill Cup visit

2010 Churchill Cup Pools & Schedule

Pool A
France A

Pool B
England Saxons

Saturday, June 5
Infinity Park, Glendale, Colorado
Canada v Uruguay
USA v Russia

Wednesday, June 9
Infinity Park, Glendale, Colorado
England Saxons v Russia
France A v Uruguay

Sunday, June 13
Infinity Park, Glendale, Colorado
USA v England Saxons
Canada v France A

Saturday, June 19
Red Bull Arena, Harrison, New Jersey
Finals Day tripleheader

About Infinity Park: Opened in September 2007 with a 4,000-seat game-day capacity, Infinity Park is one of the only rugby-specific stadiums in the United States. Owned and operated by the City of Glendale, it is also home to the Division I Glendale Raptors Rugby Football Club, and boasts a state-of-the-art broadcast production facility (all home games are broadcast live on and also on Fox Sports Rocky Mountain), a natural grass turf system, and the Try Club, a uniquely-appointed pub-type clubhouse for players, VIP guests, and sponsors. The Infinity Park complex includes the Glendale Sports Center, a high-tech fitness center with a full range of cardio equipment, weight rooms, basketball court, and deluxe locker room facilities, and the new Infinity Park Event Center, featuring a virtual 360-degree video screen in the 800-seat International Ballroom, as well as smaller meeting rooms for training, board meetings, and conferences.

About the Red Bull Arena: Red Bull Arena is a world-class sports venue located in Harrison, New Jersey. The 25,000-seat stadium features a dynamic form roof that covers all of the seating and features 30 Skyboxes, three premium clubs, two retail outlets and a Kentucky Bluegrass field. Red Bull Arena is the home of the New York Red Bulls of Major League Soccer. Red Bull Arena is privately funded stadium and owned by Red Bull GmbH, an Austrian company that produces the worlds leading energy drink. For more information, logo onto

Churchill Cup Background: The Churchill Cup is an alliance between the English Rugby Football Union (RFU), Rugby Canada and USA Rugby. The tournament was launched in 2003 and aims to develop and grow the sport of rugby union across Canada and the USA. It is named after former British Prime Minister Winston Churchill, who shared close ties with the United States - his mother was American - and with Canada during the Second World War. With support from the International Rugby Board the tournament has grown in success since 2003 when 5,000 people attended to watch the three Alliance nations in Vancouver. Since its introduction, both men's and women's teams from England, USA and Canada have participated although since 2005 it has been a men only event. Invitational sides from Argentina, Ireland, Scotland and New Zealand have all participated, while there was also a women's competition in 2003 and 2004.
Reblog this post [with Zemanta]


Post a Comment

Thanks for your comments!

Popular Posts